It’s Official!

After several weeks of trying to determine if I should sign up for such an extremely difficult personal challenge with less than 6 months to prepare, not enough funds to pay my way, and  having to rejig my vacation schedule for the entire year, I decided it was time to put one foot forward and start the trek.

I am officially signed up to climb Mount Kilimanjaro this September in an effort to raise funds for the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation.

The moment I received the approval to get the time-off from work to complete the climb, I couldn’t hear anything but my heart beat. The excitement, adrenaline, and fear set in immediately. This is it!

I spent the last hour setting up my fundraising donor page, and decided it was probably best that I start a blog to document not only my fundraising progress, but my training progress as well!

To be able to climb Mt. Kilimanjaro, I will need to raise at least $5,500 for the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation, plus pay my own way for the climb ($2K plus cost of flights and equipment). Not only will this be a physical and mental challenge, but it’ll also be a challenge to raise more than double than I’m used to for the foundation.

Let’s start now by plugging the donor link! If you’d like to make a donation, please visit: http://www.bit.ly/jtmk13

In the meantime, I’m going start working on a training schedule to prepare for the gruelling 7 day climb up Mount Kilimanjaro.

Cheers,
Jeff

Image

Leave a Reply

