Week 2 Recap: Training, Food, and Inspiration

Inspiration
What inspires people? For some, it could be nature, music, family, food, art, or even a story told by a good friend or a total stranger. Inspiration is everywhere and can be found if we open our eyes, our ears, our hearts, and our souls.

What inspires me? The first thing that comes to mind: my four little sisters. They don’t know how much they inspire me on a daily basis…but they do…and that inspiration sparks the desire to begin new challenges for myself which in turn, help me learn, grow, and inspire others in the process. It’s a win-win situation for all. On that note, it reminds me of a telephone conversation I had with an older Hungarian woman trying to sell me a season subscription to the Canadian Opera Company. Her name was Csilla. She was such friendly person to talk with, and she spent 30 minutes telling me all about the new Opera season. I kindly informed her I couldn’t afford the  subscription at the moment because I had several expenses in the pipeline. She understood and didn’t pressure me at all. However, it was near the end of the conversation that hooked me. “I want to feed your soul” she said. Wow. Those words echoed throughout my body. I couldn’t pass it up.

Another thing that inspires me is the generosity of people donating to the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation for my participation in the climb to the top of Mount Kilimanjaro. I have already raised $1,156 (21% of the required $5,500) and I’ve been told there is more to come. Knowing that I have the encouragement and support from my donors, it helps me want to continue trucking along when the going gets tough. Thank you very much for your generosity and undying support!
Food
I really need to increase my food consumption in order to train for the Mount Kilimanjaro climb this fall. I also need to increase the number of ‘healthier’ foods into my diet. Sure, I could probably still eat 6-8 Oreo cookies before my runs, but it might be better to have some veggies, fruits, and protein! During the really long runs, I tend to eat a protein bar to help keep my energy levels high for optimal performance while hitting the pavement.

For dinner this evening I baked two lemon crusted cod fillets, mashed potatoes, and green beans.  Yum!
Fish, Potato, Beans
For the healthier dessert option, I decided to try my hand at a new smoothie recipe. If you want to try it yourself, this is what you’ll need:
– 2 cups of spinach
– 1 banana
– handful of blueberries, raspberries, and blackberries
– 1 cored pear
– almonds
– water

Combine all ingredients together in your magic bullet, mix for 20 second and then enjoy!

Training
It has been a very busy and eventful week! While there is some exciting news I’ll need to share at a later time, I can give you an update on my training for the Toronto 1/2 Marathon race which takes place a week today (May 5, 2013). As some of you may know, I came down with bronchitis earlier in the year which required me to stop my race training for almost a month. I lost my base foundation, but quickly got back up to speed. I think I’ll be okay for next weeks race. I probably will not complete it in record time, but I think I’ll be pretty close. My completed training this week:

April 22-28
Monday: Leg muscle strengthening exercises**
Tuesday: rest
Wednesday: 12K run (1hr. 13mins)
Thursday: rest
Friday: 9K run (54mins), Leg muscle strengthening exercises**
Saturday: 4hr walk around the city
Sunday: 14K run (1hr. 24mins) (map below), Leg muscle strengthening exercises**

14K run

This upcoming week I’ll reduce my milage in order to prepare for the race Sunday.
** I’m trying to strengthen my gastrocnemius (calf), vastus medialis (little muscle near the knee), and of course my glutes! 

Looking forward to another great week ahead!
~Jeff

Leave a Reply

