Week 6 Recap: Moms, Fundraising, Up Next

Moms

Jeff and his Mom in Samana

Jeff and his Mom in Samana

A really good friend of mine reminded me that some of us don’t have the chance to thank our Moms before it’s too late. From the moment we are born to decades later, they are there for us. Whether it be words of wisdom or encouragement, a home-cooked meal when you visit, or just simply reminiscing a favourite childhood memory – you know how important mom is in your life. Unfortunately, I don’t have the chance to visit my mom on a regular basis so I wanted to do something special for her to help create some new memories and show her how much she means to me.

In my Week 4 Recap, I mentioned I was going to pamper my mom with a trip to somewhere relaxing. This past week I flew the two of us to Samana, Dominican Republic. It was her first time out of North America, and first time on a plane – she was very excited! While on the white sandy beaches of Samana, she was able to relax, swim in the ocean, and not have to worry about vacuuming or cooking any meals for an entire week. It was paradise for her. Mom – you deserve it. 🙂

Fundraising

OSOLE

As of this evening we’ve raised $2,501 for the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation! Thank you to all 45 supporters and donors! I’m almost at the 1/2 way point for my required fundraising goal: $5,500. If you haven’t yet made a donation to the foundation, please do so now by clicking this link. Consider forgoing that morning coffee and donate that $2 coin to the cause. Remember – every little bit counts!

I also received a very generous in-kind-donation for the silent auction from OSOLE Salon and Estetica and Mirvish Productions. If you know anyone who would be willing to donate items to the silent auction, please let me know!

Up Next

If you haven’t read the blog post about the climb route and outline and difficulty, I recommend you take a peek. As for this upcoming week, I plan on following up with dozens of businesses I’ve contacted over the last few weeks to see if they’ll be willing to make a donation to the silent auction. I also have a second fundraising idea in the works. Currently in the preliminary stages…and I’m hoping I can make an announcement (if all goes well) within the next 2 weeks. Please keep your fingers crossed!

This past week I completed the following:

May 20 – 26 
Monday: 5K run in the sand
Tuesday: rest
Wednesday: 1hr of steep terrain trekking, Leg muscle strengthening exercises
Thursday: 4K run in the sand
Friday: Leg muscle strengthening exercises
Saturday: rest
Sunday: rest

This week  I’ll resume with my climb training which includes cardio, weight training, and long distant trekking. An introduction to high altitude breathing will also begin. More on that next blog! Stay tuned!

Cheers,
Jeff

One thought on “Week 6 Recap: Moms, Fundraising, Up Next

Leave a Reply

