Week 10 Recap: Fundraising, Injuries, and Ribbons

Injuries

Sometimes, injuries happen. Being able to tell an injury from regular muscle soreness or fatigue can be difficult sometimes. As an avid runner, I’ve had the experience over the last few years to be able to detect the difference between the two…but sometimes I need to get a second opinion from a professional. Enter my physiotherapy team at CBI Physiotherapy & Rehabilitation Centre at King & Yonge, downtown Toronto. Over the last 5 years I’ve visited CBI on several occasions due to some running injuries; I have been extremely impressed with their professionalism, friendliness, and  ability to mend me quickly, and get me back on track.

Jessica (my physiotherapist) and Aila (my Kinesiologist) are an amazing tag-team duo! They have a massive amount of knowledge and help determine what type of injuries I have sustained, and provide on-going guidance and support to ensure I can get back to my training schedule. Without them, I know I wouldn’t be where I am today.

Unfortunately, two weeks ago I was injured during a game of volleyball (opposite team member went to spike the ball, but spiked my thumb instead. Ouch!) and I’ve  been visiting Ailya & Jessica weekly to try and repair the damage. Due to this injury I haven’t been able to play volleyball, dodgeball, or visit the gym to participate in my weight training exercises (no hand sports for at least the next 3-4wks).  So I’ve been focusing my training on cardio (running) and breathing exercises to prepare for the altitude at the top of Kilimanjaro.

Ribbons

Pink RibbonsEarlier in the week I had the chance to visit the head office of the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation and picked up 500 PINK RIBBONS which will be used for a few fundraising activities in the coming weeks. While I was at the office, I had a pleasure meeting the wonderful Danielle Woodhouse – my main contact at CBCF who has been assisting me during the last 2 months. It’s was great finally being able to put a face to the voice over the phone! 🙂

FundraisingDonations

Mark your calendars! The week of July 8 I will be holding a raffle and bake sale in the lobby of my office building. I’m leaning towards the date of Thursday July 11th, but will confirm in the next 48 hours. As soon as everything is confirmed, I’ll send out a formal communication as I know some folks may not be able to attend, but may want to participate in the amazing raffle!

As of this evening, with the help of dozens of friends, family members, and co-workers, we’ve been able to raise $3,953 for the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation! I’m soooooo close to reaching my required goal of $4,400 by mid July, and the ultimate final fundraising goal of $5,500 by climb day! We’re only 29% away from the final goal!!!

I know a few of you have been asking for an update on the concert idea. At the moment, I am still in search of a venue that works best for our fundraising event. Thankfully, I have some assistance from a few colleagues who are looking at other venue options for me. Everyone is aware of the time constraints we have to work with, and I hope to have something secured in the next week or so. As soon as the venue is confirmed, I’ll be sure to let you all know. In the meantime, please keep your fingers crossed!

Up Next

This coming week I’ll be following up with my business donation requests to finalize items for the raffle scheduled for early July and I’ll continue my venue research for the concert. I’ll also continue with my cardio training for the climb to the top of Kilimanjaro!

This past week I completed the following:

June 17-23 
Monday: Leg muscle strengthening exercises
Tuesday: Rest
Wednesday: Altitude mask breathing 6Kft with basic leg exercises (15mins)
Thursday: Run 7K
Friday: Rest
Saturday: Altitude mask breathing 6Kft with basic leg exercises (15mins)
Sunday: Run 8K

Cheers to a new week!
Jeff

Leave a Reply

