Mt. Kilimanjaro Climb – Week 11 Recap: Awareness, Fundraising Event, and Next Steps

Awarenessbreast-cancer-ribbon

With only 13 weeks to go before I fly from Toronto to Tanzania Africa to begin my climb, this past week I tried to focus all of my attention on the fundraising aspect of this challenge. I am required to raise 80% of my funds for the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation (CBCF) by mid July, and am allowed to raise the remaining balance of the $5,500 by the time I come back from the climb. With that being said, I’ve been working fast and furious to come up with the final amount to hit the July goal.

This past weekend I handed out over 1,600 pink flyers and 500 pink ribbons to folks at the Toronto Pride Festival and Parade! Spreading the word about the climb generated some meaningful conversations amongst friends, families, and total strangers. It’s all about raising awareness – not only for the climb, but for breast cancer  in general. If folks wanted to make a cash donation, they were not discouraged, and I was able to collect $84.30. 🙂

As people took the flyer and read it while walking away, they’d stop in the tracks and finish reading it before moving along again. The flyers caught peoples attention and I’d hear them chat about the climb, CBCF, or who they knew that had breast cancer with whoever they were walking with. Sometimes, they’d turn around and come back to chat with me and I was lucky enough to have some meaningful and heartfelt conversations with strangers about breast cancer, cancer in general, how cancer impacted their lives, and of course my climb.  So many people were willing to open up, share with me their stories, and wish me the best of luck on my challenge. I even had a few complete strangers offer to help  hand out the flyers at the festival. Why? One teenage girl told me her grandmother lost her battle to cancer just two weeks ago. Another woman told me she was a survivor and appreciated the support from the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation and strangers like me who help raise awareness and money for the charity. I’ll definitely be remembering these ladies when I’m completing my climb. Their stories make the climb to the top so much more meaningful.

Bake Sale & Raffle Fundraiser

If you live in the Toronto area and want to join me for my first major fundraising event, mark your calendars!Cupcakes

Date: Thursday, July 11
Time: 10am  – 2pm
Location: 33 Yonge Street (Yonge & Front) – Building main entrance lobby

While the bake sale is sponsored in part by Prairie Girl Bakery, you’ll be able to find an array of freshly baked goodies from home (cookies, brownies, tarts, cakes) and of course, delicious cupcakes from Prairie Girl! While you’re having a wonderful snack, be sure to pick up a few raffle tickets! Prizes include: luxurious spa packages, hotel and resort get-a-way packages, golf passes, theatre tickets, restaurant gift certificates, and more!

For those who may not be able to attend in person, but want to participate in the raffle, I’ll provide an option for you to purchase your tickets before the draw ends. Details will be provided next week! So be sure to check back!

Fundraising Update

As of today, I have raised $4,113.05 for the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation. If you haven’t made a donation yet, now is the best time to do so! I need to hit $4,400 in two weeks! Please visit the donation page to make your donation online, or if you prefer to send a personal check, contact me and I’ll provide you the mailing address! If you own a business and would like to sponsor the climb or add a product/offer to the fundraising raffle, let me know as soon as possible so I can add you to the marketing material! The fundraising event will be seen by thousands!

Up Next

This coming week I’ll be following up with my business donation requests to finalize items for the raffle scheduled for  July 11th and I’ll continue my venue research for the potential concert in August. For climb training, I’ll continue with my cardio (running), but will start focusing on leg strengthening exercises, and some weight training. Note – due to my volleyball thumb injury, I’ve needed to take it very slow with the weight training portion of my training. Tomorrow I have an ultrasound and x-ray scheduled to determine if there was any major damage to the thumb (possible chipped bone or torn ligament).

This past week I spent most of my free time working on the fundraising aspect of the challenge, so it was more of a rest week. However I was able to complete the following:

June 24-30 
Monday: Leg muscle strengthening exercises
Tuesday: Rest
Wednesday: Altitude mask breathing 9K ft with basic leg exercises (15mins)
Thursday: Rest
Friday: Altitude mask breathing 9K ft with basic leg exercises (15mins)
Saturday: Rest (Festival & Parade distribution)
Sunday: Rest (Festival & Parade distribution)

Help spread the word!
Jeff

Leave a Reply

