Mt. Kilimanjaro Climb – Week 13 Recap: Successful Fundraising Event & Back to Training!

Successful Fundraising Event

Jeff, Ingrid, Jennifer, Derek

Jeff, Ingrid, Jennifer, Derek

This past Thursday I held a fundraising event for the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation (CBCF). Homemade baked goods, cupcakes from the amazing Prairie Girl Bakery, and raffle tickets could be purchased by those who attended. The event was a fantastic success! Hundreds of people came by to show their support by either purchasing a yummy treat, trying their luck with the raffle, or even just dropping their spare change into the bucket for additional monetary support. The donated 120 cupcakes from Prairie Girl sold out in less than an hour, all of the homemade baked goods sold out shortly thereafter, and the raffle was a huge hit! (more photos below!)

The event raised $2026.25 for CBCF!

Fundraising Event @ 33 Yonge St.

Fundraising Event @ 33 Yonge St.

The raffle generated the most money for our fundraising event. We had 21 awesome prizes donated by local businesses (listed below) and I had the pleasure of contacting the winners Friday morning shortly after conducting the draw in front of a few CIBC employees. I’m still awaiting 2 winners to get back to me before I release the official winners list. Two winners collected their prize and allowed me to take their photo for the blog. 🙂 Check out their photos below!

I’d like to thank the volunteers who helped during the event (Ingrid, Maddy, Jennifer, Christine, Michelle, Derek and Josh) and the  local businesses who helped make this fundraiser possible. If it wasn’t for their support, we would not have raised such an amount! So next time you’re thinking of going out for a bite to eat, staying at a hotel or resort, a day at the spa, playing some golf or visiting a theatre….please consider the below companies:

Thanks to the very successful fundraiser, I have surpassed my fundraising goal of $5,500!! As of today, I have raised $6,629.30 for the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation! While I will still solicit donations for the foundation, my main focus for the next 3 months will be training to climb Mount Kilimanjaro. Knowing that I have so many people behind me every step of the way will make this journey to the top to much more meaningful. I’m thankful for everyone’s encouragement and support.

Up Next

This coming week I’ll be heading back to the gym several times during the week and may even bring the altitude mask along with me. I’ll continue on with my weight training regimen and will start weekend hiking/trekking. I loved hitting the gym last Friday. My muscles were sore the next day, but the feelings was great and it felt awesome to be back in the swing of things.

As you’re aware, this past week I focused my attention on the fundraiser…but was still able to sneak in a few workouts!

July 8 – 14
Monday: rest
Tuesday: Baking for fundraiser
Wednesday: Baking for fundraiser
Thursday: Fundraiser
Friday: Upper Body Weight Training (2hrs)
Saturday: City walking (4hrs)
Sunday: 8K run (50mins)

Onward and upward!
Jeff

Photos from the fundraising event:

Prairie Girl Cupcakes

Prairie Girl Cupcakes

Homemade Baked Goods

Homemade Baked Goods

Raffle Pieces

Raffle Pieces

Jeff, Derek, Josh

Jeff, Derek, Josh

Raffle Sponsors

Raffle Sponsors

Raffle Ticket Box - Were you a winner?

Raffle Ticket Box – Were you a winner?

Prize package donated by Majestea's

Prize package donated by Majestea’s

You could even win a PINK Toaster!

You could even win a PINK Toaster!

Prize package from Prairie Girl Bakery

Prize package from Prairie Girl Bakery

I was lucky enough to snag this photo before the Prairie Girl Cupcakes were sold out!

I was lucky enough to snag this photo before the Prairie Girl Cupcakes were sold out!

Amanda Lackey - Winner of Hockley Valley Resort Prize

Amanda Lackey – Winner of Hockley Valley Resort Prize

Trevor - Winner of the Pink Toaster

Trevor Selanders from Cushman & Wakefield – Winner of the Pink Toaster

Leave a Reply

