Mt. Kilimanjaro Climb – Week 18: Breast Cancer & Climb Training Update

Breast Cancer

breast-cancer-ribbonThis year alone, close to 24,000 women and 200 men in Canada will be diagnosed with breast cancer (yes, men can also develop breast cancer!). When you take a look around your place of work, your classroom, or even walking down the grocery aisle, consider this statistic: 1 in every 9 women you see will develop breast cancer within their lifetime. One in nine. It’s a pretty startling statistic. I myself, know 4 close friends and family members who have been diagnosed, battled, and treated for breast cancer. Do you know anyone who has been affected by breast cancer? What about other forms of cancer? If so, you know first hand what type of emotional, physical, and mental toll it can take not only on the individual, but also on their family and friends.

The Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation provides many helpful services and tools to help people reduce the risk of developing cancer, in addition to providing resources for those who are currently living with and battling the disease. If you haven’t already checked out their website, I recommend the below links from their website. While some of the links below may not apply to you, I still recommend you take a peek because you never know when someone you know (including yourself) will need to know where to turn for information, if and when the time comes.

Climb Training Update

So we’re less than 6 weeks away from the big day! It’s slightly nerve-racking, but it’s keeping me grounded and ready for the experience and personal challenge ahead! I’ve been told by a few friends that I’ve become a “gym rat” due to all of the extra hours I’ve been spending at the gym the last few months. As I get closer and closer to the climb, I find myself spending about 2-3hrs a day, (4-5 days a week) at the gym. I can’t thank my 2 good buddies enough for helping me along on this journey. My friend’s, Alvaro & Kevin (who have been ‘pumping iron’ for years), have showed me the do’s and don’ts while weigh training, and have come up with a pretty good weight training program for me to follow. I have to admit, it’s tough, extremely tiring, and always makes me sore the following day, but the results I’m seeing are amazing. I know for sure I will not stop hitting the gym after the climb. This newly found ‘hobby’ is an extremely healthy life changing experience that I cannot pass up!

This past week I completed the following:

August 12 – 18
Monday: Leg & shoulder strengthening exercises (1.5hr)
Tuesday: 8K run with altitude mask breathing @9K ft (50mins) and Back & Core strengthening exercises (1.5hr)
Wednesday: rest
Thursday: rest
Friday: Stairclimber & Elliptical (1.5hr) and Chest and core strengthening exercises (1.5hrs)
Saturday: Stairclimber & Elliptical (1hr) and Back and arm strengthening exercises (2hrs)
Sunday: Rest (all day wedding event for Kevin & Emerald!)

Fundraising Update

As of today’s date, I’ve raised $6,744 for the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation! If you haven’t already made a donation, please pledge your support by clicking here. Remember – The funds you donate go directly to the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation, which support breast cancer research, education, and diagnosis initiatives – not me.  I’ll be paying out of my own pocket to participate in this climb to the top of Mt. Kilimanjaro (including flight, climb costs & equipment).

In the next couple of weeks I’ll be releasing information about another major fundraising event that I’ll be assisting with in mid September. Please mark your calendars: Tuesday, September 17th. The location has been set for the head office of CIBC, located in the courtyard of Commerce Court in downtown Toronto. Details to follow!

Until then, live well and thank you for your support!
Jeff

Leave a Reply

