Mt. Kilimanjaro Climb – Week 19: Hiking, Shopping, and Training

I’ll keep this blog post short and sweet….as I’m pretty tired today…and you’ll find out why shortly!

Hiking

I’ve been meaning to get out there and complete a good long hike during the weekend, but every time the weekend comes around, something else gets in the way (in a nice way of course – lol). One weekend it could be a family event, a friends wedding, a dentist appointment that takes too long (my dentist is far away – lol), or just really bad weather. FINALLY, today I had the chance to grab my hiking day pack, throw on my hiking boots, and head out for some fun in the sun. 🙂

Jeff taking a quick break on the hike

Jeff taking a quick break on the hike

I walked the along the biking/running trails starting at the bottom of the Lower Don River Trail and headed north for 2hrs 45mins, then headed back home. I’m estimating I covered the distance of about 20-25km. It was great to finally get to do this and help clear my mind for the week to come…and of course think all about the experience I’m about to enjoy in October climbing Kilimanjaro.

Not going to lie – my legs and feet hurt right now. Nothing some advil and ice packs cant fix 😉 Perhaps I tied the boots too tightly. Next weekend I’ll try loosening them up a bit to see if that works. I’ll definitely need to schedule a massage mid September and another one on my return home from Africa. Am I really ready for this? I guess we’re going to find out over the next few weeks. I’ll probably change up my training schedule a bit to include a few hikes during the week after work (2-3hrs). This will help break in the boots and prepare my body for the long days on the mountain.

Shopping

This weekend I did some shopping online and in-store to pick up a few more items I’ll need for the climb. I first headed over to Mountain Equipment Co-Op to purchase a large 110L duffel bag, 2L hydration pack (need to carry the water somehow!), and two 55L pack dry bags. The dry pack bags will be used to keep everything I bring with me on the mountain dry….or at least that’s the plan. Climbing up a mountain in soggy/wet clothes wouldn’t be fun…so I need to be prepared!

My online shopping experience was also pretty exciting (sarcasm) as I needed to purchase a bunch more outdoor wear for the climb. This includes base layers (like mountain hiking/climbing socks), cargo pants, and some light weight shirts/sweaters. I received a discounted rate for some of the items thanks to a ‘prodeal card’ from Icebreaker. While they couldn’t provide corporate sponsorship, they offered me a discounted rate on some of their merchandise (socks!). As soon as my sock order arrives, and I have a chance to try them out, I’ll be sure to provide a review!

Training Update

Earlier in the week I had caught a minor cold/sinus infection that drained a lot of my energy. It was best I stay home and recoup during the week to prepare for the harder weeks ahead. Although once I was feeling a bit better, I rushed to the gym to continue the training. It’s weird how addicting going to the gym can be! In addition to the hiking today, I was crazy enough to head to the gym after the 5.5hr hike! I’ll need to head to bed earlier this week to catch up on rest and allow my muscles to recoup!

August 19 – 25
Monday: rest
Tuesday: 7K run (40mins) and Shoulder strengthening exercises (2hrs)
Wednesday: rest
Thursday: rest
Friday: Arm strengthening exercises (1.5hrs)
Saturday: City walking (3hrs)
Sunday: Outdoor hike (5.5hrs) and Back strengthening exercises (1.5hrs)

Fundraising Update

As of today’s date, I’ve raised $6,864 for the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation! If you haven’t already made a donation, please pledge your support by clicking here. Remember – The funds you donate go directly to the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation, which support breast cancer research, education, and diagnosis initiatives – not me.  I’ll be paying out of my own pocket to participate in this climb to the top of Mt. Kilimanjaro (including flight, climb costs & equipment).

Thanks everyone,
Jeff

Leave a Reply

