Mt. Kilimanjaro Climb – Week 23: Think Pink Event and Canada Goose

Only 8 days remain before I fly to Kilimanjaro! Where has the time gone?

This upcoming week will be all about resting and taking it very easy. With the change to colder weather here in Toronto, I need to make sure my immune system is in top-notch shape for the climb. I’ll be focusing my attention on stretching my muscles every day, getting proper sleep every night, and carb loading! The climb guides have advised I should not be training the week prior to the climb…so I’ll be listening to the pros. It’s going to feel very weird not going to the gym this week…considering I hit the gym for a 2-3hr workout 4-5 times a week!

Think Pink Event

Interview PanelOn Tuesday September 17th, I was asked to participate in a very special event held outdoors at the head office of CIBC – located at the Commerce Court Courtyard (199 Bay Street, Toronto). The event was to help kick-off THINK PINK WEEK for the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation and the CIBC Run for the Cure race.

Panel Intro 2

Jeff meets Scott McGillivray & Tracey Moore

Emceed by CHFI 98.1 radio hosts Erin Davis and Mike Cooper, I was part of a 4 person panel interview discussing how breast cancer has affected our lives…and more specifically, I was asked how I was bringing my “fundraising to new heights”. The panel members included, Jenny Fagg (CIBC’s EVP for Mortgages & Lending), who faught breast cancer herself several years ago, Scott McGillivray (from HGTV), and Tracey Moore (from CityLine TV), and myself.

Jeff meets Erin Davis

Jeff meets Erin Davis

After explaining how I became involved with the CIBC Run for the Cure 5 years ago, and how raising money was an important part of the event, I told an audience of a few hundred, that I was flying to Tanzania to climb to the top of the worlds tallest free-standing mountain – Mt. Kilimanjaro – in an effort to raise awareness and more funds for the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation.  We talked about my training regimen, how to prep for the climb, what type of equipment I was using, and general stats about the mountain.

Flag1

Jeff presents the flag

Before the interview ended with Erin Davis, I pulled out a flag from my climbing backpack, and revealed the flag to the audience. The flag, which proudly displays the ‘CIBC Run for the Cure’ logo, will come with me to Africa, and I will bring it to the top of Mount Kilimanjaro! I asked everyone in the audience to sign the flag with words of hope, inspiration, and encouragement – not only for the climb – but for those who are affected by breast cancer. JT2

The flag is filled with heartfelt messages that not only inspire, but also make the climb so much more meaningful. I know I’ll pull the flag out whenever I need a push from behind on that mountain.

Canada Goose

Jeff wearing the Canada Goose Mountaineer Jacket greeting people signing the  RFTC Flag

Jeff wearing the Canada Goose Mountaineer Jacket greeting people signing the RFTC Flag

During my Week 9 blog recap, I mentioned Canada Goose agreed to donate a Mountaineer Jacket to help me reach the top of Kilimanjaro. As I’ve mentioned in a few blog posts, I will be responsible for covering my own costs for the climb (climbing fees, airfare, equipment, vaccines, etc.) unless I can find corporate sponsors. Thankfully, Canada Goose has offered to help by providing a jacket for my trek to the top of Mount Kilimanjaro. The temperature at the top of the mountain drops to a bone chilling -25C. Being able to stay warm on the exhausting last day to the top is extremely important.

The Mountaineer Jacket was inspired by the Canada Goose Skreslet Parka, which was co-designed by the first Canadian to climb Mount Everest – Laurie Skreslet. Instead of wasting energy on shivering from the extreme cold temperatures, I can focus my energy on climbing to the top. Not having to worry to purchase more equipment helps strike one more item off my things to do list. Plus, it makes me proud to know I have a fantastic Canadian company with me every step of the way!

I received the Mountaineer Jacket and a few other goodies on the same day as the Think Pink event – which was great timing because I was able to show everyone what type of equipment and material I would need to bring for the climb. The Canada Goose products are manufactured here in Canada and at first glance, the craftsmanship is outstanding. The jacket is light weight (great as for travelling) and even has an internal water bottle holder. Having an internal holder for drinks is important, as I’ve been warned the regular camelback water containers will freeze on the way to the top of the mountain. Now my water will stay as warm as I am for the climb and I wont need to worry about dropping below freezing temperatures! I’m really looking forward to using their products! I will definitely blog and provide a thorough review when upon my return. 🙂 Canada Goose 1

Training

This past week I completed the following:
September 16 – 22

Monday: Back strengthening exercises (1.5hrs)
Tuesday: Rest (Think Pink event!)
Wednesday: Rest
Thursday: Cardio – Stair climbing  (1hr) and Shoulder strengthening exercises (1.5hrs)
Friday: Arm strengthening exercises (1.5hrs)
Saturday: Rest
Sunday: 10K Cardio Run (1hr)

Fundraising Update

As of today’s date, I’ve raised $7,244 for the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation! If you haven’t already made a donation, please pledge your support by clicking here. Remember – The funds you donate go directly to the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation, which support breast cancer research, education, and diagnosis initiatives – not me.  I’ll be paying out of my own pocket to participate in this climb to the top of Mt. Kilimanjaro (including flight, climb costs & equipment).

Cheers,
Jeff

Leave a Reply

