Week 2 Recap: The Groove & Fundraising

Getting Back Into The Groove

This past week was more about getting back into the groove. Hitting the gym and training on an almost daily basis is tough when you have other commitments (family, friends, work, etc.) lined up. Training is a very important part of the climb. However, being physically fit won’t ensure a successful climb. You also need to be mentally prepared, and one sure way of doing that is to know you’ve been training properly.

At least this time around, I know what to expect and what to prepare for. A perfect example: in 2013 when I was training for the first climb, I trained to climb UP the mountain. I totally forgot that I would be using a different set up muscles to climb DOWN the mountain and man did I pay for it in the end. That was one of my biggest mistakes…a mistake that will not be repeated!

A main focus this year will be strengthening my legs, lower back, and core.

In addition to that, I’ve added a few new twists to my training this year. I’m participating in a 2hr yoga class every week, which has been a huge benefit so far! The class has been challenging yet enjoyable. My muscle weaknesses have definitely been highlighted and I know exactly where focus on strengthening.

I’m looking forward to a fulfilling training process over the next 7 months! 🙂

Fundraising

Fairmont Royal York HotelAs of this evening, I have raised $2,960 for the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation!

Similar to the last climb, I will be holding a few fundraising events, including a grand raffle – which was extremely popular in 2013. The first fundraising event will be held in the lobby of my office building which will provide access to thousands of potential donors, supporters, and people to help spread the word about the fundraising efforts for the climb.

Cardinal Golf ClubAs soon as the building management can confirm the permitted date (I’m hoping for the last week of May or first week of June), I’ll make an official announcement. In the meantime, I’ve been busy preparing packages to hand deliver to local businesses requesting donations-in-kind (such as gift certificates or product donations) for the event.

bosk logoExtremely generous in-kind-donations have been received from the Fairmont Royal York Hotel, Cardinal Golf Club, and Bosk restaurant! If you are a business owner and would like to make an in-kind donation, please contact me!

 

Training

In addition to the my average daily walks of about 7K, this week I completed the following:

March 23 – 29
Monday: Shoulder, Leg, & core strengthening exercises (1hr)
Tuesday: 5K run (30mins)
Wednesday: Chest & Leg weight training (1hr)
Thursday: 5K run (28mins) + Ashtanga & Restorative Yoga classes (2hrs)
Friday: 10K city walk
Saturday: 5K city walk
Sunday: Rest

Click here to donate!

Click here to donate!

Leave a Reply

