Mt. Kilimanjaro – Week 9 Recap: Training Blip and Save the Date

Blip in the training

Unfortunately, the last 2 weeks have been rough in the training world. You’ll noticed in my last blog I spoke about relaxation and listening to your body before pushing it too hard. Turns out, I was coming down with a sinus/chest infection which really reduced the amount of training I could complete. At first I thought it was allergies as it didn’t seem likely to have a ‘cold’ or bronchitis in warmer weather, but turns out it wasn’t allergies. So here we are, moving into week 2, I’ve taken it easy at the gym, and my chest is still feeling almost 100%.

During the last week I hit the gym twice focusing on leg strengthening exercises and arm/shoulder exercises. Today I also took advantage of the great weather and went on a nice long 4.5 hour hike. I’m looking forward to hitting the gym more often this week to get back into the swing of things.

pink-date

Save the date

Mark your calendars! On Thursday May 28th, I will be hosting a fundraising event downtown Toronto at 33 Yonge Street (corner of Yonge St. & Front St.) from 10am – 2pm.

This bake sale and raffle fundraising event is just the place you’ll want to be to pick some some delicious homemade baked goods, and try your luck at winning some amazing prizes! The prizes are valued at over $3,000 and include a chance to win your own adventure trip with G Adventures, luxurious hotel get-a-way packages, golf packages, restaurant gift certificates, a Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF) membership, and more! Additional details will be provided here on the blog next week! Stay tuned!

If you’re unable to attend in person, but want to participate in the raffle, please send me a message and we can arrange a raffle ticket purchase prior to the event.

Fundraising Update

As of today, I’ve raised $4,465 for the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation towards my $5,500 goal. My climb team has collective raised over $37,500 towards our goal of $75,000!! We’ve hit the 50% mark!

A friendly reminder – if you haven’t donated yet and want a chance to win 1 of 3 certificates for 15,000 Aeroplan Miles (15,000 miles = a free return short-haul flight with Air Canada), all donations need to be received by the end of this month. For details visit the donation page!

Donate to the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation

Donate to the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation

Leave a Reply

