Mt. Kilimanjaro – Week 12: CIBC Run for the Cure

CIBC Run for the Cure

The CIBC Run for the Cure is where it all began. Seven years ago I signed up to participate in the 5K run, never having participated in a race before ever. It was that event that put me on the path to a healthier lifestyle, and opened my eyes to the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation (CBCF). I think during that first run I raised about $50 for CBCF. Seeing how friends and family showed their support by donating forced me to finish that race. I wasn’t going to let them down, and I wasn’t going to let myself down.

Each year after that I signed up to participate in the run, and each year I collected donations from friends and family members. The donation aspect became a larger challenge for me as I started to find the races easier to compete in, but the fundraising a little more harder. I would increase my fundraising goal every year to a higher level, and each year I would reach it.

209637_10152139793490472_1939150692_o

Jeff in a pink dress, with his Sister Crystal

In 2012 I promising everyone I would run in a pink frilly dress if I was able to raise $2,000. That year I raised over $2,300 and ran through the streets in that dress. It was fun, and really helped create awareness for the cause. After that race a lot of people asked, “How will you top it next year?” I didn’t have an answer. A few months passed and I heard about climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro for charity. The rest is history.

If you haven’t had the chance to participate in the CIBC Run for the Cure (or any other charity race in your hometown), I would highly recommend you try it out. The first challenge is signing up and finding inspiration to complete the challenge. Follow it up with a secondary challenge by raising funds for a worthwhile organization. Who knows where the future will take you. Just be open to all experiences and have fun!

The CIBC Run for the Cure is Canada’s largest single day/volunteer-led event in support of the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation. This year it takes place Sunday October 4th, 2015, all across Canada in over 60 communities. They even have a CIBC RFTC Virtual Run Site where those in remote areas, or live outside Canada can participate. I hope to see you all there!

This year I have signed up to run in the event for my 8th year, and just 1 week after the run, I will be flying to Tanzania Africa to lead the group of 15 amazing people to the top of Mt. Kilimanjaro, all supporting CBCF. 🙂

 

Kilimanjaro Training

In addition to the my average daily walks of about 7K, this week I completed the following:

June 1 – 7
Monday: Chest & Arm strengthening exercises (1hr)
Tuesday: Back, Abs, and Leg strengthening exercises (1hr 15mins)
Wednesday: Rest
Thursday: Leg & Arm strengthening exercises (1hrs)
Friday: Rest
Saturday: Rest
Sunday: 2hr hike

 

Upcoming

Tomorrow (Monday) our climb team will meet some of the reps from Charity Challenge, the group managing everything on the ground for us in Africa. They’ll be presenting everything each climber needs to know and prepare for in order to have a successful climb. Following the presentation, a member of Charity Challenge will draw the winners for the online donation Air Canada contest, and the raffle tickets we’ve been selling during the last 2 weeks. Winners will be contacted Monday/Tuesday, and announced in next week’s blog! Thanks to everyone who participated and I wish you all the best of luck tomorrow in the draw!

Screen Shot 2015-06-07 at 9.15.08 PM

 

.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

