Mt. Kilimanjaro – Week 21: Engagement & Team Hiking

Engagement

If you’re familiar with my first Kilimanjaro climb from 2013, you may recall one of my blog posts outlining a long 7.5hr training hike that I completed last September with a friend named Jade. She was a colleague that wanted to join me on my training hikes and go on an adventure. Having someone to chat with on these long hikes really took my mind off the distance and muscle soreness.

Jade joined me for a few more hikes and soon after that we started dating (you really get to know someone when you’re stuck in a forest with them for an entire day – hahaha!). During the last 2 years we kept the tradition of seeking adventure when ever and where ever we could. Why not add a new element into the picture for more adventure? The time had come for me to pop the big question!

Last weekend, Jade and I went on a Kilimanjaro training hike, and followed the same route we trekked the first time we hiked together. We stopped for a picnic lunch at our favourite secluded spot beside the river and enjoyed the warm summer sun. Shortly after our lunch, as we started to pack up to continue our hike. Jade turned away to look down the river, and I got down on one knee and waited for her to turn back towards me. When she did, I spoke from the heart and recited a proposal I had written, asking her to marry me. She said yes. 🙂 We’re very excited and look forward to the many adventures we’ll experience in this new chapter together.

11800433_10153564836533707_6883984670170574191_n

(I have now claimed our secret secluded area on the hiking trail and have proclaimed it “Proposal Rock”. 🙂 

Team Hike

image1-2

With only 10 weeks to go before we start our climb, we’ll need to pick up the pace with our training. More cardio, trekking, breathing, will help us prepare mentally and physically for the climb. Today, half of our team met up at Rouge Valley Park to complete our first training hike as a team!

Meeting up at 7:45am to start the journey, we completed several different hiking trails which contained some great terrain. The weather was much more tolerable than last week, making our 6 hour hike that much more fun!

We have a fantastic group and everyone looks strong! I’m impressed with how well everyone is doing so far. Just goes to show the team is sticking to their training plan 🙂

There is of course, some room for improvement. We’ll need to focus more on our breathing from the diaphragm while going up hill and pacing ourselves with a slower pace. The team will regroup on August 22nd for a more challenging hike at Rattlesnake Point.

Training

In addition to the my average daily walks of about 7K, this week I completed the below.

August 3-9
Monday: Rest
Tuesday: Legs & Core strengthening exercises (1hr 15 mins)
Wednesday: Chest, Triceps, and Leg strengthening exercises (1hr 15mins)
Thursday: 6K run (33mins)
Friday: Shoulder and Leg strengthening exercises (1hr 15mins)
Saturday: 6hr hike
Sunday: Rest

Fundraising

As of today’s date, I’ve raised $7,948 for the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation! Very close to my $8,500 goal! Our team has collectively raised $82,543 towards our $100,000 team goal!!! Almost there! I’m so proud of everyone! 🙂

Screen Shot 2015-08-08 at 10.40.44 PM

Leave a comment